鋼鐵俠,神奇女俠-博物館秀

美國藝術水晶橋博物館-阿肯色州

2019年2月9日至4月22日

聖安東尼奧藝術博物館-德克薩斯州

2019年6月21日至9月1日

超人和神奇女俠是美國流行文化中最受歡迎的兩個偶像。在經濟逆境和世界大戰時期創造的這些人物迅速成為美國道德和平等的燈塔,代表著真理,正義和美國方式的理想。

在這個激動人心,發人深省的展覽中,《鋼鐵俠》,《神奇女俠》中的藝術家使用超人和《神奇女俠》來探索民族身份,美國價值觀,社會政治,代表制和人文概念。

《鋼鐵俠,奇蹟女性》是由水晶橋助理館長阿列霍·貝內代蒂(Alejo Benedetti)開發的一個新展覽,研究藝術界對超人和《神力女超人》的回應,範圍從抑鬱時代的起源到當今當代藝術家的詮釋。查找超過50位藝術家的70多幅繪畫,照片,裝置,視頻等。

《鋼鐵俠》,《神奇女俠》中的藝術家利用超人和《神奇女俠》為這些文化偶像提供了嶄新的視角,並利用了我們目前對超級英雄的民族愛,探索了民族身份,美國價值觀,社會政治,代表性和人性化概念。在一個激動人心,發人深省,令人難忘的展覽中。

我們認識到,超人和神奇女俠是熟悉的人物,並且可能對年輕觀眾有更大的吸引力。對於父母和家人來說,重要的是要知道,在《鋼鐵俠》,《神奇女俠》中,藝術家有多種方式來描繪這些角色。一些以熟悉和英勇的方式代表,而另一些則在探索成熟的話題,例如種族,性別,性取向和民族認同。

“超人代表真正的阿爾法男性。現代的上帝偽裝成一個舉止溫和的人。這種並置總是讓我著迷。我看到的每個人都走在街上用偽裝來掩飾其真實的感覺,長處短處嗎?有多少人?我們中的一個人希望我們有上帝的力量從我們畏縮的外牆中掙脫出來嗎?也許最大的力量展示就是成為自己的能力,擺脫對審判和迫害的恐懼,以自己的方式生活。可以激勵我們擺脫陰影,成為我們都有能力成為英雄。”

里奇·西蒙斯

MEN OF STEEL, WOMEN OF WONDER - MUSEUM SHOW

CRYSTAL BRIDGES MUSEUM OF AMERICAN ART - ARKANSAS 

9 FEBRUARY TO 22 APRIL 2019

SAN ANTONIO MUSEUM OF ART - TEXAS 

21 JUNE TO 1 SEPTEMBER 2019

 

 

Superman and Wonder Woman are two of the most beloved icons in American pop culture. Created in times of economic adversity and world war, these characters quickly emerged as beacons of American morality and equality, representing the ideals of truth, justice, and the American way.

 

The artists in Men of Steel, Women of Wonder use Superman and Wonder Woman to explore national identity, American values, social politics, representation, and the concept of humanity in this exciting, thought-provoking exhibition.

 

Men of Steel, Women of Wonder is a new exhibition developed by Crystal Bridges Assistant Curator Alejo Benedetti that examines art-world responses to Superman and Wonder Woman ranging from their Depression-era origins to today’s contemporary artist interpretations. Find over 70 paintings, photographs, installations, videos, and more by over 50 artists.

 

Offering fresh perspectives on these cultural icons and tapping into our current national love for superheroes, the artists in Men of Steel, Women of Wonder use Superman and Wonder Woman to explore national identity, American values, social politics, representation, and the concept of humanity in an exciting, thought-provoking, unforgettable exhibition.

 

We recognize that Superman and Wonder Woman are familiar figures and may have more appeal for younger audiences. For parents and families, it’s important to know that in Men of Steel, Women of Wonder, there is a range of ways artists are depicting these characters. Some are represented in familiar and heroic ways, while others are exploring mature topics like race, gender, sexuality, and national identity.

 

"Superman represents the true alpha male. The modern-day god disguised as a mild-mannered man. This juxtaposition always fascinated me. Is everyone I see walking down the street using a disguise to hide their true feelings, strengths and weaknesses? How many of us wish we had the strength of a god to break free from the facades we cower behind? Maybe the biggest show of strength is the ability to be ourselves, free from fear of judgment and persecution and to live life on our own terms. Superheroes can inspire us to break free from the shadows and become the hero we are all capable of being."

RICH SIMMONS

ALL ARTWORK IS COPYRIGHT OF RICH SIMMONS ART LTD

RICHSIMMONSART@GMAIL.COM

  • Instagram
  • Facebook
  • Twitter