錯誤-SOLO SHOW

蘇荷當代藝術-紐約

2015年10月2日至10月18日

去年,他在休斯敦拐角處Bowery街259號的Soho當代藝術展取得了巨大成功之後,老闆里克·魯尼克(Rick Rounick)邀請了屢獲殊榮的藝術家里奇·西蒙斯(Rich Simmons)參加第二場名為“錯配”的展覽。展覽將於2015年10月2日至10月18日對公眾開放。

在英國成功舉辦個人展覽後,席夢思成為國際藝術界的明星。當他的街頭藝術作品慶祝威廉王子和凱特·米德爾頓的王室婚禮,題為“ Future *** King”(描繪未來國王)的街頭藝術作品爆炸時,他的作品便出現在商業藝術界。 !他先前在Soho當代藝術展上展出了著名的有爭議的蝙蝠俠和超人接吻肖像。

西蒙斯(Simmons)在《錯覺》(The Misfits)中,將他的最新作品帶入《 The Bowery》,其中包括流行文化圖像,例如標誌性的超級英雄,在這些熟悉的圖像上表達出他的見解和幽默感。這位藝術家在展覽標題後面表達了自己的想法:“因為這次展覽融合了我的幾種風格和主題,所以它與針刺女孩,紋身師,穿著搖滾衫的DJ以及帶有美國國旗的性感女郎有點前衛。 ,還有性感的蝙蝠女-雖然仍然是我在街頭/流行/當代藝術中的替代/超越方法,但我認為描述所有這些的完美詞是“錯配”。

Simmons十分熱衷於重返The Bowery,“紐約在文化上是如此令人興奮,許多起源於這座城市的藝術家和藝術運動在塑造我熱愛的藝術和啟發我的風格方面發揮了巨大作用。風格的真正靈感來自街頭藝術,塗鴉,波普藝術和漫畫,而紐約一直是這些類型中最具標誌性的藝術家的震中。”

這位自學成才的藝術家開拓了街頭和波普藝術的新流派,這些風格通常受到復古,復古風格的50年代圖像的啟發,使用的畫報和銀器漫畫在他的作品中起著重要作用。翻下廣告牌海報,浸泡各層,將它們拉開,然後看到裡面的美麗,創造了一種街頭藝術考古學形式,使那些注定永遠不會再見光明的海報成為一種新的生活。 Simmons將它們粘貼到畫布上,並為視覺效果創建城市衰減風格的背景,從而提供獨特的紋理和效果。

自從Keith Haring和Jean-Michel Basquiat等藝術家稱街巷為家以來,Bowery就與街頭藝術聯繫在一起。 Rounick自信地說:“ Rich Simmons的藝術為有經驗的收藏家提供了投資新星繪畫的機會。”

席夢思作品的粉絲和收藏家包括皇室成員,名人和音樂家,遠至新加坡,巴庫,巴黎,迪拜,摩納哥,倫敦和邁阿密。

MISFITS - SOLO SHOW

SOHO CONTEMPORARY ART - NEW YORK 

2 OCTOBER TO 18 OCTOBER 2015

 

 

After his extremely successful show last year at Soho Contemporary Art located at 259 Bowery (at the corner of Houston), ownerRick Rounick has invited award-winning artist Rich Simmons back for a second show entitled, “Misfits”.  The exhibition is open to the public October 2 through October 18, 2015. 

 

Simmons became a star on the international art scene after successful solo shows in the United Kingdom.  His work exploded onto the commercial art scene when his street art piece celebrating the royal wedding of Prince William and Kate Middleton entitled “Future ***King” depicting the royal couple as Sid and Nancy of the Sex Pistols went global within hours of its release!  His previous show at Soho Contemporary Art included the well-known controversial portrait of Batman and Superman kissing.

In “Misfits”, Simmons brings his latest works to The Bowery, which includes pop culture imagery such as iconic super-heroes, projecting his opinions and sense of humor on these familiar images.  The artist expressed his idea behind the show’s title, “Because this show is a mix of several of my styles and themes, and it is a little bit edgier with pin-up girls with tattoos, DJing in rock shirts, being sexy with American flags, and the sexy Batgirl — while still being my alternative/outsider approach to street/pop/contemporary art — I thought the perfect word to describe all of this is ‘Misfits’.”

 

Simmons is enthusiastic about returning to The Bowery, “New York is such an exciting city culturally and a lot of artists and art movements that originated in the city have played a huge role in shaping the art I love and the style that inspires me — my style is really inspired by street art, graffiti, pop art and comic books, and New York has been the epicenter for the most iconic artists in these genres.”

The self-taught artist has trail-blazed a whole new genre of street and pop art often inspired by retro, vintage-style 50s imagery using pin-ups and silver-era comic books having a prominent role in his work.  Ripping down billboard posters, soaking the layers, pulling them apart and seeing the beauty that lies within creates a form of street-art archaeology and gives posters that were destined to never see the light of day again, a new lease of life.  Simmons pastes them onto canvas and creates an urban decay style backdrop for the visuals that deliver a unique texture and result.

 

The Bowery has been associated with street-art since artists such as Keith Haring and Jean-Michel Basquiat called the street home.  “Rich Simmons’ art is an opportunity for experienced collectors to invest in a painting by a rising star,” states Rounick confidently.

Fans and collectors of Simmons’ work include royalty, celebrities, and musicians — as far as Singapore, Baku, Paris, Dubai, Monaco, London and Miami.

  • Instagram - White Circle
  • Facebook - White Circle
  • Twitter - White Circle
logo black png_edited.png